Pour Over Coffee Dripper

To continue my coffee related theme from the last post, I decided to post my review of the pour over coffee dripper.  If you want to try it, you can purchase it here.

pourovercoffee

Why did I purchase a pour over coffee maker? I work nights, so my “hours of operation”, so to speak, are different than anyone else in my household. I love having coffee in the morning, but I am always on the lookout for the best, easiest, and fastest way to make coffee that still tastes good.

To make an entire pot of coffee for one person is wasteful, and no matter how hard I try, I cannot get a good tasting cup of coffee out of a coffee pot when I brew less than a whole pot. Many coffee snobs will tell you that this is because a regular drip coffee maker makes substandard coffee. This might be so, but having never wanted to shell out the big bucks for a professional model, I couldn’t say.

I purchased a Keurig coffee maker several years ago, and that is a very convenient method for a quick single serve cup of coffee. I found some pods for it right here on Amazon that are wonderful and fully biodegradable, so that’s good. However, I’m not Rockefeller, so what happens when I run out of K-cups?

I have a French press, which makes absolutely delicious coffee if you can get the measurements right, but it takes a long time and is sure messy to clean up! So, when I read about pour over coffee being the “it” thing right now, I knew I wanted to try one!

pourovercoffee2I like the fact that I can be sure there are no hidden areas of this cone that I cannot clean, so I KNOW FOR A FACT that when I use it, it is perfectly clean. With traditional coffee makers and with the Keurig, this isn’t the case. Having a perfectly clean base to add the coffee to makes the coffee taste better. It may be psychological, but it does seem to taste better!

Without any filters, this dripper is so easy to empty and clean, as well. I love that! It is absolutely dishwasher safe, but it is so easy to clean after I use it that I prefer to do it that way.

pourovercoffee3I put my coffee in the dripper, added my hot water, and voila! Coffee! NOT EVEN ONE coffee ground found its way into my cup. I definitely can’t say that about my French press!

I travel a lot, and hotels are notorious for having bad coffee! (Besides, who knows what bacteria are lurking in the in-room coffee maker?) I love that I can pack this and a Tupperware container of coffee grounds and have fresh, delicious coffee no matter where I am.

It is really elegant and sophisticated looking. It seems to be very high quality. It is very sturdy and put together quite well. It fits perfectly on my coffee cup, and I use a fairly large cup. It really is easy and fast, and the coffee was delicious! I also love loose-leaf tea, so I plan to try it for that next.

Leave a Reply

